Amstel Gold 2021

OTR League

Photo by Teocalli

The usual route across Limburg country (and hills) has been replaced by laps of a circuit in the countryside of Valkenburg but the Amstel Gold Race still has many of its renowned features intact.

This year’s race is over 12 laps of a closed 16.9km circuit featuring the Geulhemmerberg, the Bemelerberg and the Cauberg, all east of Maastricht. The final lap skips the Cauberg ahead of the finish in Berg en Terblijt.

The race was called off in 2020 leaving Mathieu van der Poel as the title holder from 2019 edition where he won ahead of Simon Clarke and Jakob Fuglsang.

Have van der Poel and van Aert run out of steam, are they marked out of the top spot?  We will find out on Sunday.

Rider start list can be found here.

The women’s race also takes place on Sunday.  The route is over  118 kilometres.  The finish lies 2.6 kilometres after the last climb up the Cauberg.

Niewiadoma is title holder from 2019, finishing ahead of van Vleuten and Vos finished in third.

Rider start list can be found here.

Notify of